Looking for a Family Tradition? Check Out These 22 Fun Family Holiday Traditions

Having a family tradition is a great way to bring your family closer together. Check out these 22 fun family holiday traditions that you can start with your family this year.

Fall is finally here!

Can you believe it?

It seems like once January finally comes to an end.

Because lets face it January is the longest year ever! (I know it’s not really a year, but it certainly feels like it)

The rest of the year just flies by.

There is so much that happens once fall starts.

For all of those football fans out there it’s the start of football season.

Then Halloween rolls around followed by Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Eve.

The summer heat begins to subside and the trees begin to lose their leaves…

But you know what I like most about fall is the time spend with my family.

Family traditions are such an important part of this time of the year.

Especially once the big holidays arrive.

I was curious to find out what some of my fellow bloggers did with their families for the holidays.

So I reached out to my fellow bloggers to see what some of their favorite family traditions were during this time of the year.

Let’s take a peek at 23 family-friendly holiday traditions that you can start with your family this year.

Fall Traditions

Photo by Thgusstavo Santana on Pexels.com

Before we get into the family traditions for the major holidays. Let’s look at a few fun fall family traditions that you can do with your loved ones:

Get Out And Enjoy Nature

Stephanie at Rural Ruby

Our family LOVES nature! One of our favorite things to do is to explore. We take a hike with our cameras, and document what we see.

From changing leaves to apples and pumpkins, and (if we’re quiet enough) wildlife, there’s so much to see.

So, before the busy holiday season, we get outside away from it all and just enjoy the fresh air.

Richie at Homeschool and Humor

Every year, we do a Fall nature study. We study leaves, paint, create sun catchers, and sketch.

We discuss the weather and incorporate a lot of language arts and science into our studies while doing outdoors school during this season.

We are a traveling homeschooling family so the location of where we are during the Fall season can be very interesting at times!

In 2018 we were in Virginia. In 2017 we were in New Hampshire (where people travel from all over the country just to see the colors). In 2016 we were in Texas.

This year, 2019, we will be in Hawaii and we are looking forward to our Fall nature study in Honolulu this year!

Visit the Pumpkin Patch

Holly at Hollybee Tells

Each year we head out to the pumpkin farm to pick out a pumpkin, play in the corn maze and have cider and doughnuts.

I love this tradition because all of my family comes together for it. All of my sisters, their kids, my brother and my mom.

Nothing beats family time.

Soph at Soph Hearts

We love picking our own pumpkins as a family at a local patch!

They make an event of it with food stalls and such, it’s the perfect fall activity!

Pick Your Own Apples

Patrice at Mom Life with P

I love going to the apple farms in North Georgia in the fall.

They have tons of kid friendly things to do like a corn maze, a tricycle race track, cow rides, pug races, giant slides, a petting zoo, a hayride and more.

The roasted corn on a stick, apple slushies, and fresh apple fritters are amazing and the apples we get there taste so much better than the ones from the store. I can’t wait to go this year!

Get Lost in a Corn Maze

Alina at Mom Learning On the Job

We go to Richardson farm in IL which has one of the biggest corn Mazes.

It usually takes about 2 to 3 hours to finish. We love it

Halloween Traditions

Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

When I think of Halloween the only thing I think about is all the candy I’m going to have to hide from my kids.

But these bloggers have some awesome family traditions that I would mind trying.

Decorating Contest

Charlene at Hess Un-Academy

We love family projects making decorations for contests.

Pumpkin carving contests are something we’ve done often.

This year we are participating in a scarecrow making contest.

These kinds of projects are always fun to work on together and are our favorite part of the season!

Candy Alternatives

Switch Witch

Jennifer at Coffee and Creativity Blog

We do the switch witch for Halloween!

My kids are too young for a lot of candy so we set out the candy Halloween night and the switch witch takes it and leaves a tangible present.

Then mommy gets to secretly enjoy all the candy 😂

Figurines Instead of Candy

Caitlin at Creatively Working

While he does not do this anymore, my grandfather would carve and paint little figurines for Halloween rather than give out candy.

My cousin, who has been a diagnosed diabetic for most of her life, always had a difficult time going around the neighborhoods and gathering candy that she was able to eat.

So, being a hobbyist woodcarver, my grandfather would make various figurines every year for Halloween instead of giving out candy.

He would give each of the grandchildren one before handing them out for the neighborhood.

Each of my siblings received a bag of them when we graduated or left home so they make great decorations while we’ve been starting out on our own.

Community Outreach

Britt at Alternatively Speaking

We are just starting a new tradition here that I am SUPER excited about. I

am part of a saxophone quartet that performs at weddings, dinners, etc.

This year for Halloween we will be performing outside at my house, playing all music from The Nightmare Before Christmas.

We are going all out with the decorations and inviting the whole community to swing by throughout the night as they are trick or treating.

We will be handing out candy and hot chocolate and asking for donations of canned goods and money for the local food bank.

So far a couple local businesses have also jumped on board with us making donations to the cause and we’re hoping to make it an ongoing tradition!

Thanksgiving Traditions

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Most of us gather together to have a good meal with family and friends for Thanksgiving. Here are a few other family traditions that you can start this year besides eating.

Holiday Shopping

Marlene at Life with Mar

One of my favorite holiday traditions is after our Thanksgiving dinner. While most people watch football, my mom and I pass our “food coma” by planning our holiday shopping.

It doesn’t mean we’ll hit Black Friday, but it’s become a fun tradition to look and see what’s out there and start planning our holiday gifts.

We used to do this with the actual newspaper! But of course, now it’s all digital on iPads. It’s a fun way to get into the holiday spirit after our Thanksgiving dinner.

Expressing Gratitude

Jessica at Just Call Me Jess

During thanksgiving, although cliche, right after eating dinner, we all express thanks and gratitude for what was placed in our lives that year.

It usually reminds everyone of little things that made a big impact.

EJ at The Crafty Afro

I had to add my own family tradition in this spot!

I recently started a tradition with my kids where we share what we are grateful for throughout the month of November.

I cut out fall leaves that the kids can color and decorate, then I have them write one thing they are thankful for on each leaf.

Then we tape the leaves to a wall in the house to make them look like they are falling from the sky.

I usually leave them up for the rest of the year as a reminder of all the things we are grateful for.

Decorating for Christmas with the Family

Cameron at This Custom Life

We decorate for Christmas the day after Thanksgiving. We make hot cocoa and put on carols and involve the whole family.

It’s a chance for us to tell stories about various decorations and past holidays.

It truly rings in the Christmas season every year!

Christmas Traditions

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Who doesn’t like gathering together for food and presents!

While there are some common traditions on this list there are also a few unique family traditions as well!

Pick Your Own Tree

Brandi at Brandi-Michelle

We pick a live Christmas tree every year and decorate it while listening to Christmas music and baking something sweet.

Food and Fun

Kara at Oregon Christian Girl (Fondue Night)

On Christmas Eve, my family’s Christmas Eve dinner is Cheese Fondue.

We eat it with apple slices and french bread. My maternal grandmother passed away when I was 9, but the couple of Christmas Eves before, she had made Cheese Fondue.

We began doing it as a way to have the memory of my grandma at Christmas. We’ve been doing it now for over 20 years.

Louise at The Inspired Crafter (Baking Cookies w/ The Kids)

My favourite Christmas tradition is baking Christmas cookies with my 3 boys.

We all put on Santa hats and Christmas aprons and we make a heap of different sized star shapes.

When they’re cooked we then stack them and make cookie Christmas trees. They make great gifts to give our friends and family.

Gift Exchange with a Twist

Rebecca at Collecting Clovers

One of my favorite Christmas traditions is a gift exchange card game our family plays every Christmas. It is a little like white elephant but with cards.

When your card is called, you get it to pick a present from the pile or steal from someone else. Some years we open the gifts right away, which makes stealing so much more fun!

During other years we keep all the gifts wrapped until the end. The gifts range from Dollar Tree finds to gift cards for restaurants and stores.

My children look forward to it every holiday. It is a tradition-filled with so much laughter and love.

Christmas Cookie Box

Violeta at Shoegal Out in The World

Send a box of Christmas Cookies to friends and family that live abroad.

One of the things I look forward to every Christmas is getting a package of goodies from friends and family that live abroad.

Even if I can’t be with them during the Holidays, I send them a little box filled with delicious Christmas cookies.

It is the perfect surprise for your loved ones that live far and away from where you live.

I have to admit…I wish someone would also send me a Christmas cookie box….it is such a thoughtful and delicious gift.

Family Getaways

Sienny at Sienny Loves Drawing

During Christmas my family generally love to have a short getaway together.

All family members united, gather together, celebrate Christmas, reflection for the year & then share new year resolutions 🙂

Susanna at The Nordic Mum (Mountain Escape)

In Australia, Christmas is usually warm and spent on beaches having a BBQ and swimming with friends.

However, coming from Finland we always head to the snowy mountains (that still have snow during that time of year) so that we can experience a more Sandinavian type Christmas.

We hike and find some snow to play with the kids. We prepare all the Finnish Christmas foods like carrot and swede casserole and Christmas Ham.

Pajama Party

Elise at Ask Dr. Ho

Every year for the last 24 years we have bought new pajamas for the entire family.

Sometimes they match exactly and sometimes the colors match but the design is different.

I love this tradition because I know everyone has something fun and comfy to spend Christmas morning in and the pictures are so cute.

I love the tradition even more because our kids are all in their 20s and still look forward to it.

Final Thoughts

Wow, those were some really awesome family traditions!

I’m looking forward to going apple picking with my kids this year and having the kids put together a Christmas cookie box for our neighbors and family in other parts of the US.

Now it’s your turn.

What are your favorite family traditions? Are there any traditions on this list that you think you might try this year?

Let me know in the comments section.

As always don’t forget to like and share this post on social media!

Having a family tradition is a great way to bring your family closer together. Check out these 22 fun family holiday traditions that you can start with your family this year.

Until Next Time,

EJ

19 thoughts on “Looking for a Family Tradition? Check Out These 22 Fun Family Holiday Traditions

  1. I love seeing other people traditions. I’m with you about Halloween all I can think about is hiding the candy haha. Up until recently I always made the costumes as part of our tradition but the children have decided none of that this year. I might have to discuss the switch witch idea with them. Sounds a bit less cavity invoking for the kiddos. Thanks for the great round up of family traditions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jenn! Yes, it definitely will save on trips to the dentist! My kids aunt always brings them a big bag of candy that I have to ratio out and hide.

      Like

    1. Yes, some of these are really great ideas! I never would have thought of doing then. Also thanks for letting me share your family tradition.😊

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.